The Kingdom of Morocco has a parliamentary constitutional monarchy system of government. Morocco has the king as the head of state. The constitution of Morocco grants power to the king, who appoints the prime minister to serve as the head of the cabinet. Power in the Moroccan government is divided into the three arms of government, which is made up of the executive, the judiciary, and the legislature. The executive comprises of the king, prime minister, and the cabinet. The Parliament consists of 325 members while the judiciary is independent and subject to the Moroccan constitution only.

In Morocco, all citizens aged 18 years and above are eligible to vote in general elections. The elections are held after every five years, and members of the legislature elected for five years. 295 of the members are elected through multi-seat constituencies while the remaining 30 elected in a national list of women. The prime minister, on the other hand, is appointed by the king from the party that has the majority seats in parliament.

The Moroccan parliament is situated in Rabat. Architect Abrein Laforgue designed the building, which was constructed in the 1930s. The parliament building of Morocco is among the oldest buildings in Morocco. The parliament building is also known as Palais de Justice.

Morocco has had a multiparty system in place since independence. From the 1990s to date political parties have been formed in the country some still active while others were dissolved. Some of the active political parties in the country are the Democratic Independence Party, Justice and Development Party, Labour Party, the Moroccan Union for Democracy, Popular Movement, Constitutional Union, Democratic and Social Movement, Reform and Development Party, and National Democratic Party among others.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps