Where is Morocco?

Located in Northern Africa, Morocco has a 2,363.00 km border with Algeria (1,900 km), Western Sahara (444 km), Spain (Ceuta) (8 km), Spain (Melilla) (10.5 km). It has a 1,835.00 km coastline. Morocco claims and administers Western Sahara, whose sovereignty remains unresolved.

Morocco is an African country covering 446,550.00 km2 of which 0.06% is water and 446,300.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 57th largest country in the world and slightly more than three times the size of New York; slightly larger than California. Its geographic coordinates are 32 00 N, 5 00 W and Rabat is the capital city.

The English name "Morocco" comes from the Spanish and Portuguese names "Marruecos" and "Marrocos".

Its ISO code is MA.


Morocco has a mean elevation of 909 m above sea level.

It has a Mediterranean climate with extreme temperatures in the interior. Its terrain is mountainous on the northern coast and interior with some large plateaus.


Morocco has a population of 33,655,786 making it the 39th largest in the world. The highest populations can be found along the Atlantic and Mediterranean coasts.

Arabic and Berber languages are official, while French is most commonly used. The major ethnic group reported is Arab-Berber. The majority of the population identifies as Muslim.

The dialing code for the country is 212.


Morocco is an independent country. It gained independence from France in 1956. Its constitution was last ratified in 1962.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Morocco's GDP is $283,000,000,000.00 (USD) with $8,400.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 58th largest economy and its citizens the 143rd richest in the world. The currency of Morocco is the Dirham (MAD).

Its major export partners are Spain, France, and India. Its main exports are clothing and textiles, automobiles, and electric components. Its major import partners are Spain, France, and China. Its major imports include crude petroleum, textile fabric, telecommunications equipment, and wheat.

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018