Where is Western Sahara?

Western Sahara is an African country covering 266,000.00 km2. This makes it the172 smallest region in the world and about the size of Colorado. Its geographic coordinates are 24 30 N, 13 00 W and El-Aaiun is the capital city.

Western Sahara has a 2,049.00 km border with Algeria (41 km), Mauritania (1,564 km) and Morocco (444 km). Many neighboring states reject the Moroccan administration of Western Sahara.

It is named for its location in the desert.

Its ISO code is EH.

Its constitution was last ratified in 1999.


It is located in Northern Africa. Western Sahara has a mean elevation of 256 m above sea level.

The climate is arid, although it is temperate in the mountainous regions and hot and humid along the west coast. Its terrain is mostly low, with flat deserts and small mountains.


Western Sahara has a population of 587,020 making it the 169th largest in the world. The majority of the population resides in Laayoune.

Standard Arabic is the national language. The most common ethnic groups are Arab and Berber. The majority of the population identifies as Muslim.

The dialing code for the country is 212.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Western Sahara's GDP is $906,500,000.00 (USD) with $2,500.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 203rd largest economy and its citizens the 190th richest in the world. The currency of Western Sahara is the Dirham (MAD). Its main export is phosphates. Its major imports include fuel for fishing fleet, and foodstuffs.