Where is Georgia?

Located in Southwestern Asia, Georgia has a 1,814.00 km border with Armenia (219 km), Azerbaijan (428 km), Russia (894 km) and Turkey (273 km). It has a 310.00 km coastline. Russia's military support and subsequent recognition of Abkhazia and South Ossetia independence continue to sour relations with Georgia.

The capital city of Georgia is Tbilisi and is located in the eastern part of the country near the Tbilisi National Park and the region of Rustavi. Tbilisi has been the capital city of Georgia since 1122 when the King of Georgia at the time (David the Builder) conquered the city and moved his headquarters to the region. According to archaeological evidence, the area has been inhabited by humans since the 4th millennium B.C. The city has always been an important and established trade route between east-west global powers.

Read more on Georgia's Capital

Georgia is an Asian country covering 69,700.00 km2. Russia currently occupies approximately 12,560 sq km, or about 18% total area in Georgia. This makes it the 119th largest country in the world and slightly smaller than South Carolina; slightly larger than West Virginia. Its geographic coordinates are 42 00 N, 43 30 E and Tbilisi is the capital city.

The name "Georgia" is said to derive from the Persian designation "gurgan", meaning land of the wolves.

Its ISO code is GE.


Georgia has a mean elevation of 1,432 m above sea level.

It has a warm, Mediterranean climate. Its terrain is mostly mountainous, with some plains and foothills.


Georgia has a population of 4,928,052 making it the 122nd largest in the world. Most settlements can be found near to the central valley.

Georgian is the official language. The majority ethnicity is Georgian, followed by Azeri and Armenian. The majority of the country identifies as Orthodox Christian.

The official language of Georgia is Georgian which originates from the Kartvelian language family. These languages originated in the Caucuses region of Europe and the oldest surviving written evidence of Georgian dates back to the fifth century. According to many linguistic experts, the old Georgian script may have derived from Aramaic with influences from the Greek language. Georgian is used as the official language for business and education and the rich history of Georgian provides a stable platform for the language to survive and flourish. Approximately 90% (3.3 million) of the country's 3.7 million inhabitants speak Georgian as their first language.

Read more on Georgia's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 995.


Georgia is an independent country. It gained independence with the dissolution of United Kingdom in 1991. Its constitution was last ratified in 1995.

The political system of Georgia takes place within a multi-party semi-presidential representative democracy. The country made the transition to democracy after the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1990. The President of Georgia is the head of state and the Prime Minister of Georgia is the head of government. The President and ruling government hold executive power and legislative power is vested in both the government and the Parliament of Georgia.

Read more on Georgia's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Georgia's GDP is $37,270,000,000.00 (USD) with $10,100.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 119th largest economy and its citizens the 134th richest in the world. The currency of Georgia is the Lari (GEL).

Its major export partners are Azerbaijan and Bulgaria. Its main exports are vehicles, ferro-alloys, and fertilizers. Its major import partners are Turkey, Russia, and China. Its major imports include fuels, vehicles, machinery and parts, graind and other foods, and pharmaceuticals.


The official flag of Georgia is known as the Five Cross Flag and was originally a banner of the medieval Kingdom of Georgia from 1008-1490. It was reintroduced as the official flag in January of 2004 after a period of national revival and patriotism in the country due to the collapse of the Soviet Union. The flag consists of a red St George Cross on a white field with four smaller crosses placed in the middle of each quarter-section.

Read more on Georgia's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps