The flag of Tuvalu is a light blue one with a Union Jack at the top left corner of the flag. The Union Jack displays dark blue, white, and red colors. Furthermore, there are nine yellow five-pointed stars on the right part of the flag. The flag has a proportion of 1:2. The country adopted the flag in 1978 when it gained its independence. The nationals of Tuvalu use the flag as both the national flag and ensign.

The nine stars on the flag of Tuvalu represent its nine islands. The names of these islands are Nukulaelae, Niutao, Nanumea, Nui, Nukufetau, Funafuti, Niulakita, Nanumanga, and Vaitupu. The Union Jack indicates the country’s old state of having been a British protectorate. On the other hand, the light blue color on the flag symbolizes the Pacific Ocean which surrounds the Tuvalu islands.

The designer of the Tuvalu flag was Vione Natano. His idea won the government’s confidence in a nationwide contest which was held to receive proposals of the country’s flag.

Tuvalu previously used the flag of Gilbert Islands as its own before it separated from the island. The flag of Gilbert Island had the Union Jack drawn upon a dark blue background. The flag also had an arm which was predominantly red, with the sun drawn on it and below it was wavy lines. From 1976 to 1978, the flag’s arm changed such that it was encircled in white. Furthermore, it was painted yellow and green. The current flag of Tuvalu was instituted in 1978. Between January 1996 and April 1997, the then Prime Minister Kamuta Latasi introduced a new flag. The flag had no Union Jack, had eight stars, and had the court of arms on it. The residents of Tuvalu protested this flag. Consequently, the previous flag was reintroduced by Prime Minister Bikenibeu Paeniu in 1997.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps