The official language of Trinidad and Tobago is English. English is used in schools and government offices. Although English is the official language, the two islands have different forms of English based on the local dialect on each island. Trinidadian Creole English dialect is mostly spoken in Trinidad Island while Tobagonian Creole English is used in Tobago. Apart from the two, other languages spoken include Spanish, French, Chinese, Patois (a local mixture of French and Spanish), Coco Payol (Creole based dialect), some African languages and Trinidad and Tobago Sign Language.

What Are the Linguistic Demographics?

Trinidad and Tobago is made up of diverse communities who also speak a diverse array of languages. While English is the official language, many people speak Trinidad Creole English. French and Spanish are among the other languages.

What Are Some Common Useful Phrases?

Although the official language of Trinidad and Tobago is English, many of the residents speak Trinidad Creole English. Many unique words have evolved from Trinidad English.

Which Minority Languages Are Spoken?

There are several minority languages spoken in Trinidad and Tobago. They include Trinidadian Hindustani, Arabic, Chinese, and Yao - a extinct language spoken by the Yao people. There is also Kari’nja or Carib spoken by the Kalian people, Shebaya, an Arawakan language, and some African languages such as the Yoruba language. Also, the languages of Patois and Coco Payol are also spoken. The latter is based on local Creole dialect while Patois is a mixture of French and Spanish. The deaf community uses Trinidad and Tobago sign language.

This page was last modified on February 7th, 2018