Port of Spain is the capital city of Trinidad and Tobago, as well as the 3rd largest city in the country after Chaguanas and Fernando. It is located in the northeastern region of Trinidad Island. Port of Spain was made the capital city of Trinidad and Tobago in 1757. The city is home to the many international businesses, and banks. It is also a commercial hub and the country's biggest port.

The city of Port of Spain has more residents living in the city center compared to the urban and metropolitan areas. The city center itself has a population of 165,100 residents. The urban area has a population of 37,074 while the metropolitan area has 128,000 residents. The Port of Spain’s population is increasing because people are migrating to look for opportunities available in the city.

Port of Spain offers excellent tourist sites ranging from sightseeing, the vibrant culture of Trinidad, culinary delights, and recreational activities. The most popular tourist attractions within the city include the national zoo, botanical gardens, and the presidential palace. Unlike many other countries, the residence of the president is also open for tours.

Port of Spain experiences two climatic seasons: the wet season and the dry season. The dry season starts from January to mid-April with February, March, and April being the driest. The three months receive very little rain around 30/40 millimeters of rainfall per month. From June to December the city experiences the rainy season.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps