The Slovakian government operates under a parliamentary republic system which is headed by both a president as well as a prime minister. The country’s president plays a largely symbolic and ceremonial role in terms of participating in governmental affairs. The ruling governing body in Slovakia is known as the National Council of the Slovak Republic. After an election the cabinet, which is appointed by the president according to the recommendations of the prime minister, is required to secure a vote of confidence from the National Council.

Slovakia has a multi-party electoral system. The 150 members who are elected to the National Council of the Slovak Republic serve a term of four years. The country’s president is elected by popular vote and may serve for five years. The prime minister is appointed by the president and is usually the leader of the political party which has garnered the majority of votes in an election. Although the President is the recognized head of state the prime minister holds most of the executive power in terms of governmental affairs.

The Slovakian government conducts the nation’s affairs from the parliament building located on the hillside of the historic Bratislava Castle. Also known as Hrad, this structure overlooks the city of Bratislava as well as the Danube River. The origins of the Castle site date back to prehistoric times when the Boleráz people first constructed settlements on the hillside location. Modern restoration work began in 1957. The official residence of the President of Slovakia is Grassalkovich Palace, which is located in the capital of Bratislava.

Slovakia has a multiparty system. Some of the most prominent political parties include Freedom and Solidarity, Direction - Social Democracy, and the Slovak National Party.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps