Where is Slovakia?

Located in Central Europe, Slovakia has a 1,611.00 km border with Austria (105 km), Czech Republic (241 km), Hungary (627 km), Poland (541 km) and Ukraine (97 km). Slovakia has enforced strict Schengen border rules.

Slovakia’s capital city, Bratislava, is a historic city located on the banks of the Danube and Morava Rivers. It assumed the status of being the nation’s capital after the so called Velvet Divorce in 1993 when the former country known as Czechoslovakia was officially dissolved. With a total population of 421,801 inhabitants Bratislava sits on 142 square miles of land. Nicknamed "Beauty on the Danube", Bratislava is home to a wide array of historic and culturally important sites. The origins of its Old Town Hall date back to the 13th century while the majestic Gothic style St. Martin’s Cathedral was built on what was the site of a much revered 1221 Romanesque church. Because of its continental climate the capital experiences four distinct seasons.

Read more on Slovakia's Capital

Slovakia is a European country covering 49,035.00 km2 of which 1.90% is water and 48,105.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 68th smallest country in the world and about one and a half times the size of Maryland; about twice the size of New Hampshire. Its geographic coordinates are 48 40 N, 19 30 E and Bratislava is the capital city.

Slovakia comes from the word "slovo", meaning "people who speak the same language".

Its ISO code is SK.


Slovakia has a mean elevation of 458 m above sea level.

It has a Mediterranean climate in the coastal regions, and a continental climate in the plateaus and valleys. Its terrain is made up of rugged mountains in the central and northern part and lowlands in the south.


Slovakia has a population of 5,445,802 making it the 118th largest in the world. The country has a fairly evenly distributed population.

Slovak is an official language, followed by Hungarian. The major ethnic groups reported are Slovak, Hungarian, Romani and other. The majority of the population is Roman Catholic, with a large percentage also non-religious.

The official language of Slovakia, which is spoken by a majority of citizens in the country, is Slovak, also known as sloven?ina and slovenský jazyk in its native tongue. Stemming from the West Slavic family of languages Slovak is an Indo-European language. With its 46 letter alphabet Slovak has the status of being the longest of all the Slavic and European languages. Spoken by some five and a half million people the Slovak includes a wide variety of dialects which differ depending upon the geographical area in which they are spoken. Minority languages in Slovakia include Ukrainian, Roma, Polish, Czech, Polish, Hungarian, and Rusyn.

Read more on Slovakia's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 421.


Slovakia is an independent country. It became independent in 1993 when Czechoslovakia split into the Czech Republic and Slovakia. Its constitution was last ratified in 1992.

Slovakia has a multi-party parliamentary republic system of government. The 150 members of the National Council are democratically elected by the people of the nation for a term of four years. Although the country’s president holds a largely ceremonial and symbolic role Slovakia’s prime minister wields the majority of the political power. The National Council conducts the country’s administrative and governmental business from the historic Bratislava Castle which has long and storied past that goes back to prehistoric times. The president of Slovakia resides in Grassalkovich Palace which is also located in Bratislava.

Read more on Slovakia's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Slovakia's GDP is $169,000,000,000.00 (USD) with $31,200.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 70th largest economy and its citizens the 57th richest in the world. The currency of Slovakia is the Euro (EUR).

Its major export partners are Germany, the Czech Republic, and Poland. Its main exports are vehicles and related parts, machinery and electrical equipment, and nuclear reactors and furnaces. Its major import partners are Germany, the Czech Republic, and Austria. Its major imports include machinery, vehicles, and nuclear reactors.


The Slovakian flag features the three traditional Slavic colors which were established in 1848 by the Prague Slavic Congress. This color combination can also be found in an array of other European nation’s official flags, all of which share a common heritage as well as similar deeply rooted cultural traditions. Set against the tri colored background Slovakia’s flag features the national coat of arms which was designed by two local artists: heraldry expert Ladislav Vrtel and artist/painter/designer Ladislav ?isárik. This symbol not only reflects the nation’s Christian history but also references its three prominent mountain ranges of Tatra, Fatra, and Mátra.

Read more on Slovakia's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps