Bratislava, the capital city of Slovakia, is located in the south west portion of the country on the banks of the Danube River as well as the western bank of the River Morava. The city shares a border with the neighboring countries of Hungary and Austria. Bratislava took on the status of Slovakia’s capital city in 1993 following the dissolution of Czechoslovakia, an event known as the Velvet Divorce.

Nicknamed Beauty on the Danube and Little Big City, Bratislava is home to a population of approximately 421,801 people and covers a geographical area of 142 square miles. While its urban area is home to an estimated 583,600 residents the city’s metropolitan district has a population of 659,578 with a population density of 2,971 inhabitants per square mile.

Bratislava is a historic city with an array of popular tourist attractions and landmarks. One of the most culturally significant sites in the city is St. Martin’s Cathedral, a Gothic style three nave church constructed on the site of a 1221 Romanesque place of worship. Another top spot for visitors to explore in Bratislava is the city’s Old Town Hall which originated in the 13th century.

Slovakia’s capital city sits in a north temperate zone which is characterized by a continental climate that experiences four distinct seasons. During the winter months temperatures in the urban area typically average around -1 degree Celsius while in the summertime average daily temps rise to 21 degrees Celsius or so. Precipitation is spread evenly throughout the entire year. The city is regarded to have one of the driest and warmest climates of all the geographical regions in Slovakia.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps