The Republic of Singapore has a democratic system of government, and has both a president and a prime minister. The latter is the head of government, and the president is the chief of state. Power in Singapore's government is divided between the legislature, judiciary, and the executive. The parliament makes laws, while the judiciary interprets them, and the executive implements them.

The general elections of Singapore are held after six years. The presidential elections are held three months after six years have elapsed. For the prime minister’s office, the majority leader of parliament becomes the prime minister after parliament is dissolved. Anyone older than 21 years is supposed to vote in the general elections, and voting is compulsory in Singapore. The president is elected for a term of six years while the prime minister term is five years. The president is elected by voters while the majority leader of parliament becomes the prime minister.

The legislative house of Singapore is located in Civic district downtown core within the central area. The Public Works Department designed the building. Construction of the building started in 1955 and ended in 1999. The building was designed with a classical style to blend in with the other buildings around the area. The building features a voting system, media rooms, Information technology centers and an integrated congress system. The building was opened on September 6, 1999, by the prime minister, speaker, and some members of parliament after a ceremonial walk.

Singapore is multiparty city state. Some of the parties active in Singapore politics include the Singapore Democratic Alliance, the Reform Party, the People's Power Party, the Workers' Party, and the People's Action Party among others.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps