The island of St Martin is divided into two, with one side being a French overseas collectivity on the northern side of the island, (Saint Martin) and one side being a constituent of the Kingdom of Netherlands (Sint Maarten). The president of France is the head of state of the island of Saint Martin and is represented by a local prefect. The leader of government is the president of the Territorial Council, which is the legislative arm of government. The Executive arm is made up of the French president and a prefect, as well as the president of the Territorial Council and an Executive Council that is appointed by the 23 members of the Territorial Council.

What Does the Election Process Look Like?

In Saint Martin, the local prefect is appointed to office by the President of France following advice from the French Minister of Interior. The president of the Territorial Council is elected by members of the council and gets a five-year term. The Territorial Council is elected to serve a term of five years through a popular vote.

Where Is the House of Paliament Found?

In Saint Martin, the Territorial Council and its president do not have official residences as they hold most of their meetings in hotels.

What Are the Political Parties of the Country?

The island of Saint Martin is divided between the French overseas collectivity of Saint Martin and Sint Maarten, a constituent of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Saint Martin occupies the northern part of the island, and Sint Maarten the southern. Although Saint Martin is part of France, it has significant authority over its own legislature and finances. The head of government in Saint Martin is the president of the Territorial Council. The Territorial Council is a 23-member council elected by the people and which in turn gets to elect the president from among its members.

This page was last modified on February 7th, 2018