The politics of the Netherlands occurs in the context of a parliamentary representative. It is a constitutional monarchy and a decentralized unitary state. The country has been served by the monarch since March 16, 1815. The state is described as consociational state. This implies that the powers are shared between the elected leaders and the monarch. It has a multiparty system with the party having the freedom to elect their representatives to the parliament.

Netherlands has numerous parties competing for parliamentary seats. However, they collaborate to form a coalition government after the election. Elections are held at six different territorial levels: the representatives of the EU, the state, the 12 provinces of Netherlands, the 25 water boards, and the 403 municipalities. General elections are held after every 4 years. The municipal elections are always held two years after a year that can be divided by four while the provincial elections are held a year after municipal elections. City councils and states-provincial are not dissolved. Dutch citizens living outside the country are entitled to vote using the postal vote.

The House of Representatives is the lower house of the bicameral parliament in Netherlands. The upper house is the Senate. The two houses of representatives are located in The Hague. They are located in the building complex of Binnenhof. Binnenhof hosts several other ministries and government offices. Catshuis is the state residence of the prime minister of Netherlands. It has been serving the purpose since 1963. The construction of the Hague-based building started in 1651. It is located on the road leading to Scheveningen. The official residence of the current king, Willem Alexander has been Noordeinde Palace. Noordeinde Palace is situated in the province of South Holland, the Hague.

Major political parties in the Netherlands include, but are not limited to, the People's Party for Freedom and Democracy, the Party for Freedom, the Christian Democratic Appeal, the Democrats 66, the GreenLeft and the Socialist party.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps