The official flag of the Republic of Nauru features a dark blue background bisected by a yellow horizontal line. In the bottom portion near the hoist side is a white star which features twelve points. Nauru became self-governing in 1966 and then gained its full independence two years later in 1968. Its official flag was adopted on January 31, 1968.

The solid shade of blue on Nauru’s flag represents the Pacific Ocean where the island nation is located. The yellow line which bisects the design is a symbol of the Equator. Since Nauru is one degree below this imaginary line it stands to reason that the white star situated just below it represents Nauru’s geographical location. The twelve points on the star symbolize the twelve indigenous tribes of the island. The color white is thought to symbolize phosphate which is an important natural resource that’s mined in the country.

After gaining its independence Nauru’s official flag was chosen in a local design competition and flown for the first time on the country’s Independence Day on January 31, 1968. The creator of the winning design was an employee at Evans, an Australian flag manufacturer which is a company that has been in business for over 130 years.

Before becoming a sovereign state Nauru was represented by a couple of foreign flags including the Union Jack which was flown during Nauru’s time as a League of Nation’s mandate with the United Kingdom and Australia during the years 1919 to 1948. Soon after this Nauru adopted a flag design which included a red background with the union jack set in the upper hoist side corner, the twelve pointed star situated below, and four medium sized stars along with one smaller star set in a diamond formation comprising the remainder of the design. This flag was used from 1948 to 1968 and symbolized Nauru’s Trusteeship with Australia and the United Kingdom.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps