Where is Nauru?

Located in Oceania, Nauru is an island nation. It has a 30.00 km coastline.

Nauru is an Oceanian country covering 21.00 km2. This makes it the 3rd smallest country in the world and about 0.1 times the size of Washington, DC. Its geographic coordinates are 0 32 S, 166 55 E and Yaren is the capital city.

The name Nauru comes from the Nauruan word "anaoero" which means "I go to the beach".

Its ISO code is NR.


Nauru has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

It has a tropical climate with a rainy season from November to February. Its terrain consists of sandy beaches, coral reefs, and phosphate plateaus.


Nauru has a population of 9,591 making it the 222nd largest in the world.

Nauruan is the most commonly spoken as well as the official language. The major ethnic groups reported are Nauruan and other Pacific Islander. The majority of the country is Protestant Christian or Roman Catholic.

The dialing code for the country is 674.


Nauru is an independent country. It gained independence in 1968 from New Zealand, Australia, and United Kingdom administered United Nations trusteeship. Its constitution was last ratified in 1968.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Nauru's GDP is $150,800,000.00 (USD) with $14,800.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 221st largest economy and its citizens the 107th richest in the world. The currency of Nauru is the Dollar (AUD).

Its major imports include food, fuel, manufactures, building materials, and machinery.

This page was last modified on February 6th, 2018