Montenegro is a parliamentary democratic republic. The country practices multi-party democracy. The prime minister heads the government whereas the president is the head of state. The Executive powers are vested on the Government of Montenegro whereas the legislative powers are exercised both the government and the parliament of Montenegro. The judiciary arm of the government is an independent body.

The president of Montenegro is elected by secret and direct ballot method. The presidential elections are held after every four years. The president is eligible to a maximum of two terms in office. In case, after an election, the leading presidential candidate does not have an absolute majority of votes, a run-off is held between the first two candidates. After he is elected, the president influences the appointment of the prime minister by proposing a name to the parliament for approval. The prime minister can serve as the head of government unlimited terms. The members of parliament are elected after every four years. There are 81 members of parliament.

The parliament building, which was designed in 1954, is located in Podgorica. The official residence of the president of Montenegro is called the Blue Palace, also known as the Plavi Dvorac. The Blue Palace is located in the former royal city of Cetinje. It was built in between 1894 and 1895.

The major political parties of Montenegro include the Democratic Party of Socialists, Democratic Montenegro, the new Serb Democracy, the Movement for Changes, the Social Democratic Party, and the Democratic People's Party. Political parties in Montenegro must form coalition governments.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps