The flag of Mongolia consists of three horizontal bands, all of equal size, in red, blue, and red. The Soyombo national symbol is depicted in yellow within the red band on the left-hand side of the flag.

This version of the flag was adopted on 12 February 1992 after the Mongolian Revolution of 1990 had spurred the transition of the country to a liberal democracy. The current flag of the nation is very similar to the version used from 1945-1992 with slight variances in colour and the removal of the socialist star which sat atop the Soyombo national symbol.

The red in this flag is a symbol of the spirit of the Mongolian people and their will to survive and thrive in a harsh environment and the blue is said to be symbolic of the eternal blue sky that is seen in Mongolia. The Soyombo national symbol consists of a column arrangement of symbols that represent the sun, moon, yin-yang symbol (known as taijitu), earth, as well as fire and water. According to vexiologists, individuals who study historical symbols such as flags, the design of this flag took place in 1940 by the ruling government of the Mongolian People's Republic. At this time, Khorloogiin Choibalsan was the leader of the Mongolian People's Republic and his government had close ties to the Soviet Union which is why the socialist star was included.

As mentioned earlier, the flag of Mongolia used from 1945-1992 is very similar to the current banner. However, the blue in this version is a lot lighter and there is a star (a symbol of socialism in Mongolia) above the Soyombo national symbol. The Bogd Khaanate of Mongolia used three separate flags from 1911-1924 with all three containing portions, or the whole, of the Soyombo national symbol. From 1924 onward, the nation was known as the Mongolian People's Republic and used four different national flags before the flag of 1945 was adopted.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps