Both English and Irish are official languages in Ireland. Irish is sometimes referred to as Gaelic. It is part of the Indo-European family of languages as a Goidelic language. Irish utilizes a Latin script and its alphabet comprises of 18 letters in total.

Although the Irish used to hold more prominence in Ireland, it began to lose its popularity at the end of the 1800s. Today, around 36% of the population of Ireland reportedly speaks Irish, a small number of whom it is the first language of. 99% of the population of Irish citizens speak English.

To say "hello" in Irish, one can say "dia dhuit". "Goodbye" is "slán". For something more complicated, one can say "how are you?" by asking "Conas tá tú?"

Some of the minority languages spoken in Ireland include Russian, French, German, Mandarin, Scots, Shelta, and Japanese.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps