Honduras is a presidential democratic republic with a multiparty system of government. The current constitution in the republic of Honduras was adopted in 1981. Its official name is the Republic of Honduras. Its government consists of three arms namely the legislative, the executive, and the judiciary. The president is both the head of state and the head of government. Executive power is exercised fully by the government while legislative roles are vested in the unicameral National Congress, which consists of deputies elected by a direct vote. The Honduras judiciary is headed by a Chief Justice who is both the president of the supreme and constitutional courts.

According to the Honduran constitution, one has to be at least 18 years of age or older to participate in an election. The voters usually vote in three categories: the national executive, the national house of congress or National legislature, and the state executive. The president is elected under the national executive through plurality. A popular vote determines the victor of the elections. The president can only hold office for a maximum of four years and is not allowed to seek reelection according to the constitution. People vying for other positions can seek reelection for as long as they want as there is no term limit barring them from doing so.

The home of the parliament of Honduras is in the center of Tegucigalpa, the nation's capital city. The building of the current Honduran house of parliament was completed in 1980. It is of a modernist design with bright colors and pillars that separate it from the ground. The president’s official residence is the Palacio José Cecilio del Valle, originally built in 1988, also located in Tegucigalpa. It has been the official residence of the president since 1998. There have existed other presidential residences before but they were often replaced due to political tension and various constitutional amendments in the country.

Honduras has five major political parties. They are the Liberal Party of Honduras, the National Party of Honduras, the Democratic Unification party, the Innovation and Unity Party, and the Patriotic Alliance Party.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps