Guyana is a parliamentary representative democratic republic. The leaders are elected to represent people in the parliament. The country has a multi-party system. The executive powers are vested on the president, who is the head of the government and is advised by members of the cabinet. The legislative powers are executed by both the president and the members of the National Assembly. The judiciary is independent of influences from the executive and legislative arms of government.

Elections are held after every five years in Guyana. The president is limited to two five-year terms. The members of the National Assembly are elected directly by the registered voters. Each party usually has a nominee for the presidential position. The presidential candidate from a party that garners the highest number of seats in the National Assembly automatically becomes the president of the country. The Guyana Elections Commission is the body responsible for conducting the elections.

The official residence of the president of Guyana is referred to as the State House. It is located in Georgetown. It was formerly the official residence of the governor of British Guiana. Castellani House, which is now the national art gallery, was at some point the official presidential residence. The State House was built in 1858. The parliament building of Guyana, also located in Georgetown, was built between 1829 and 1834. Its architectural style is Renaissance architecture.

Major political parties in Guyana include the People's National Congress, the People's Progressive Party, A Partnership for National Unity, and the Alliance for Change.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps