Guinea is a presidential republic. The president is the head of government and the head of state. The country also has a prime minister, who leads the country alongside the National Assembly, the executive, and the judiciary.

Elections in Guinea are held in every five years. The people elect majority of the members of the National Assembly through voting. It is only those Guinea citizens who are 18 and above that are eligible to vote during elections. The president of Guinea is elected to serve for a five-year term. However, since 2007 elections have been postponed on several occasions. One such instance was in April 2012 when President Conde postponed elections indefinitely. He explained that the purpose of postponing elections was to make sure they were transparent and fair

The residence of the president is the Sekhoutoureah Presidential Palace located in Kipe District, Conakry. The palace is situated behind the Saint Mary Cathedral. The National Assembly building is also located in Conakry. It is commonly known as the “People’s Palace.” Major renovations took place in 2008 to improve the face of the building as Guinea celebrated its 50th anniversary since its independence.

Guinea has multiple political parties, including the Rally of the Guinean People and the African Democratic Party of Guinea.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps