Where is Guinea?

Located in Western Africa, Guinea has a 4,046.00 km border with Cote d'Ivoire (816 km), Guinea-Bissau (421 km), Liberia (590 km), Mali (1,062 km), Senegal (363 km) and Sierra Leone (794 km). It has a 320.00 km coastline. Sierra Leone has protested Guinea's continued occupations of some lands near the Makona and Moa Rivers.

Guinea is an African country covering 245,857.00 km2 of which 0.06% is water and 245,717.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 77th largest country in the world and slightly smaller than Oregon. Its geographic coordinates are 11 00 N, 10 00 W and Conakry is the capital city.

The name of the country comes from the Guinea region of West Africa.

Its ISO code is GN.


Guinea has a mean elevation of 472 m above sea level.

It has a hot and humid cliimate with monsoons in the rainy season of June to November and mild weather in the dry season from December to May. Its terrain is mostly flat, with a hilly to mountainous interior.


Guinea has a population of 12,093,349 making it the 75th largest in the world.

French is the official language. The major ethnic groups reported include Fulani, Malinke, and Susu. The majority of the country is Muslim.

The dialing code for the country is 224.


Guinea is an independent country. It gained independence from France in 1958. Its constitution was last ratified in 1990.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Guinea's GDP is $16,080,000,000.00 (USD) with $1,300.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 152nd largest economy and its citizens the 211th richest in the world. The currency of Guinea is the Franc (GNF).

Its major export partners are India, Spain, and Ireland. Its main exports are bauxite, gold, and diamonds. Its major import partners are China, the Netherlands, and India. Its major imports include petroleum products, metals, and machinery.

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018