Guadeloupe, being an overseas department of the Republic of France, has no government of its own. Instead, the President of the French Republic with the advice of the French Ministry of Interior appoints a prefect and two deputies who represent the president in the governance of the region. Guadeloupe also sends four deputies to the French National Assembly and two or three senators to the French Senate and the European Parliament for its representation. The executive arm of power comprises of the Chief of State (who is the President of France), the head of government, and the President of the General

The Presidents to the Regional council and the Departmental Council are elected for a six-year term. They are elected by the members of the councils. Elections are conducted for the two Presidents, namely the General Council and Regional Council. The body that runs the elections is the Election Board. The republic encourages a multi-party system. As such several parties participate in the elections to have their members elected to the two councils. The board also organizes for the election of those who represent Guadeloupe in the French Senate and French National Assembly for nine and five-year terms respectively.

Most of the officials sent out as commissioners in the overseas regions of France do not have official residences. The Prefect appointed by the President of France resides at the Prefecture building in Basse-Terre. The French Congress is located at the Palace of Versailles in the Île-de-France region of France

As Guadeloupe is an overseas department of France, it does not have any political parties of its own, aside from regional parties. Major political parties who are active in mainland France are also active in Guadeloupe.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps