The political system of Eritrea is considered a presidential dictatorship in a single-party, sovereign country. The President of Eritrea is both the head of government as well as the head of state. Although a new constitution was ratified in 1997 that allowed greater political freedom, it has yet to be implemented.

The last elections took place in Eritrea in 1993 and polls were conducted to choose the new National Assembly. These 150 elected officials elected President Afwerki in 1993 after assuming their respective positions in the Eritrean government. There have been no elections in Eritrea since this time. As mentioned earlier, the constitution of 1997 has yet to be implemented, and the 1993 constitution is still the most important document of Eritrea regarding political rule and process.

The national parliament of Eritrea, known as the National Assembly, is located in the capital city of Asmara. Situated near the centre of the country, this house has 150 seats, all of which have been appointed and not elected. While the nation is essentially ruled by a dictatorship, the National Assembly is responsible for national budgets, regulating council policies, and governing domestic and foreign policy. The country is divided into six regions, and 55 districts for administrative purposes. These six areas are known as Anseba, Central, Gash-Barka, Northern Red Sea, Southern, and Southern Red Sea.

The one political party that is permitted in the country is known as the People's Front for Democracy and Justice.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps