The Republic of Curacao, being a colony of the Kingdom of Netherlands, takes the form of a parliamentary representative democratic system of governance. It has the executive, the legislative and the judicial arms of power. The executive arm comprises of the governor, the prime minister, and the cabinet. The Prime Minister is the head of the government and works alongside the cabinet that he appoints. He is also the leader of the multi-party system. The position of the multi-party system leader was created after the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles in 2010. It was in 2010 that Curacao became an autonomous state. The government is not autonomous in all matters as stated in the Charter for the Kingdom of Netherlands under the title "kingdom affairs". Its rule is influenced by the monarchy.

The current governor is known as Lucille A. George-Wout. He has been in the office since 2013. The governor was appointed by the King of the Kingdom of Netherlands, King Willem – Alexander (the Dutch head of state). He represents and takes care of the affairs of the Kingdom and is also the head of the government of Curacao. Besides the king, another leader of Curacao is the prime minister who is called Eugene Rhuggenaath. The current cabinet came into place on June 7, 2013. It is based on the majority from the three main parties of the National People's Party (PNP), Sovereign People (PS), and Partido pa Adelanto I Inovashon Soshal (PAIS). The cabinet also has an independent member.

The legislative house of Curacao, Estates of Curacao is based within the capital city, Willemstad. The official residence of the governor is the Fort Amsterdam Palace in Willemstad. It was built at the center of Island and has been renovated over the years. Some previous governors preferred to live in the Plantation Houses instead of the palace. Prime Minister Eugene does not have an official residence. This is because one of his predecessors, Ivar Asjes ruled out the idea of building an official residence for the prime minister due to the then financial situation of Curacao.

The governor is appointed by the monarch of the kingdom of the Netherlands for a period of six years. The prime minister and the deputy prime minister are elected for a period of four-years by the Staten. 21 members of the national legislative assembly, the Estates of Curacao, are elected after every four years by proportional representation from the parties. Political parties have to participate in pre-election round of voting. If they are not among the parties forming the Estates of Curacao and they have garner at least 1% of the valid votes cast. The only Curacao residents who are eligible to vote in the elections are those of 18 years and above.

This page was last modified on November 22nd, 2017