Cuba is a socialist republic. Leadership in Cuba is through democratic centralism. The first Cuban president, Fidel Castro, legalized the communist party in the late 1950s. His action damaged the country’s relationship with the United States. Initially the US thought the Cuban revolution determined to restore democracy within Latin America.

Elections in Cuba take place in two phases. The first phase involves the election of the delegates to the Municipal Assembly. On the other hand, the second phase involves the election of deputies to the National and Provincial Assemblies. Cubans nominate the candidates for Municipal Assemblies at nomination assemblies. Municipal Assemblies in turn nominate the candidates for provincial and national assemblies. No political parties are allowed to campaign including the Communist Party. Voters make their decisions based on the candidates’ photos and biographies that are posted in public arenas. Voting takes place every five years.

The National Assembly of People’s Power is the legislative body of the Cuban government. The members of the National Assembly gather at the El Capitolio. Its location is Havana, the country’s capital city. The building of the Assembly by architects Raul Otero and Eugenio Piedra began in 1926 and ended in 1929. The residence of the President of Cuba is Palacio de la Revolución.

The Communist Party of Cuba is the only party to have legal recognition in the country. However, other parties do exist informally.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps