Where is Cuba?

Located in the Caribbean, Cuba is an island nation. It has a 28.5 km border with the US naval Base at Guantanamo Bay. It has a 3,735.00 km coastline. The US Naval Base at Guantanamo Bay is leased to the United States and only mutual agreement or US abandonment of the facility can terminate the lease.

Havana is the capital city of Cuba. The city is decorated by beautiful Spanish architecture. Havana is the economic, political, and cultural center in Cuba. It is the focal point of Cuban commerce and exports sugar, tobacco, and fruits. Havana is the largest city in Cuba and is home to the major port in the country.

Read more on Cuba's Capital

Cuba is a North American country covering 110,860.00 km2 of which 0.94% is water and 109,820.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 104th largest country in the world and slightly smaller than Pennsylvania. Its geographic coordinates are 21 30 N, 80 00 W and Havana is the capital city.

The name Cuba derives from the Taino Indian designation for the island.

Its ISO code is CU.


Cuba has a mean elevation of 108 m above sea level.

It has a tropical climate that is moderated by trade winds with a dry season from November to April and a rainy season from May to October. Its terrain is mostly flat with rolling plains, rugged hills, and some mountains.


Cuba has a population of 11,179,995 making it the 78th largest in the world. The population is distributed evenly throughout the country in urban areas such as Havana.

Spanish is the official language. The major ethnic groups reported are white, mulatto, and black. The majority of the population is Roman Catholic.

Spoken by close to 11 million people, Spanish is the official language spoken in Cuba. However, some minority languages are also spoken in Cuba. These languages include Galican, Haitian Creole, Corsican, and Lucumí.

Read more on Cuba's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 53.


Cuba is an independent country. It became independent in 1902. Its constitution was last ratified in 1976.

Cuba is one of the few communist countries in existence today. Today, Cuba is one of the world’s remaining socialist countries following the Marxist-Leninist ideology. According to its 1992 constitution, the Communist Party of Cuba is the “leading force of society and of the state.”

Read more on Cuba's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Cuba's GDP is $133,000,000,000.00 (USD) with $11,900.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 77th largest economy and its citizens the 124th richest in the world. The currency of Cuba is the Peso (CUP).

Its major export partners are Canada, Venezuela, and China. Its main exports are petroleum, nickel, medical products, sugar, tobacco, and fish. Its major import partners are China, Venezuela, and Spain. Its major imports include petroleum, food, machinery, and chemicals.


The Cuban flag features three colors: blue (the dominant color), red, and white. Adopted in 1902, the flag is the national flag and ensign of the Republic of Cuba. It is one of the two communist country flags that do not use a communist symbolism. The other country is Laos.

Read more on Cuba's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps