The government of China is elected officials who are serving in lower levels of government. China's government is divided into four separate branches which are the executive, the judicial, the legislative, and the military branches respectively. The Constitution of the People's Republic of China guarantees the Communists Party as the supreme leader and political authority in the country.

Elections in China are based on a hierarchical election system in which the local People's Congress is directly elected by the people, and then these elected officials will elect the next level of government. This process continues upwards until the President has been chosen by the National People's Congress, made up of officials who are elected by other elected officials at a lower level of government. The elected People's Congress will also elect local governors, mayors, and heads of districts and townships. Opposing parties to the Communist Party have all but been outlawed within Chinese society which has ensured the Communist Party remains in control of the country.

Located in Beijing, the National People's Congress is the most massive parliamentary body in the world with 2,924 members. In theory, the National People's Congress is the highest lawmaking and legislative authority in the country, although many outsiders have criticised this parliament for only symbolically approving decisions which have already been made by the Communist Party. The office of the President of China is located in a complex in Zhongnanhai, Beijing and serves as the primary headquarters for the Communist Party of China.

In practice, the Communist Party of China (or CPC) is the only political party to hold power in China.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps