The government of Argentina works under a representative democratic republic, which means that citizens elect individuals to represent their interests in government. Argentina governs its country through 3 branches of government: executive, judicial, and legislative. The National Congress carries out legislative duties and is organized into 2 houses: the Senate, which is comprised of 72 seats, and the Chamber of Deputies, which is comprised of 257 seats. The President of Argentina acts as both Head of State and Head of Government, leading the executive branch. The judicial branch acts independently of both the President and the National Congress.

The current President of Argentina is Mauricio Macri, who has held the position since December 10th of 2015. As President, Macri will serve a four-year term and may be eligible to hold office for a second term at any time in the future. He holds the distinction of being the first elected President since 1916, who is neither Peronist nor Radical. Prior to being President, Macri was the Chief of Government of Buenos Aires between 2007 and 2015. Before that, his first experience in government was in the Chamber of Deputies as a representative of Buenos Aires from 2005 to 2007.

The legislative body of Argentina, known as the National Congress, meets at the Palace of the Argentine National Congress in Buenos Aires. This building is located on Avenida de Mayo, on the opposite end from the Casa Rosada. It was built over an 8-year period, from 1898 to 1906, in a neoclassical architectural style. This Congressional palace is characterized by carved, white marble and a large bronze-covered dome at its center.

Voting in Argentina is mandatory for all citizens between the ages of 18 and 70. Since 1995, presidential elections have taken place under a runoff voting system, which means that citizens vote twice. After the first round of voting, the two winning candidates go on to the second round and citizens vote again. The President and the Vice President run on a single ticket to serve a four-year term. Argentina maintains a two-term limit for the President. Members of the bicameral National Congress are elected under a slightly different system. Representatives in the Chamber of Deputies are elected based on proportional representation and four-year term. These elections are held once every 2 years, rotating among districts. Senators are elected for six-year terms.

This page was last modified on November 22nd, 2017