Where is Argentina?

Located in Southern South America, Argentina has a 11,968.00 km border with Bolivia (942 km), Brazil (1,263 km), Chile (6,691 km), Paraguay (2,531 km) and Uruguay (541 km). It has a 4,989.00 km coastline. The Falkland Islands, South Georgia, and South Sandwich Islands have been subject of territorial disputes between Argentina and the United Kingdom.

The capital of Argentina is Buenos Aires, which is located at the mouth of the Rio de la Plata, along the southeastern coast of South America. The population of Buenos Aires is slightly more than 2.89 million, although over 13 million individuals reside in the entire metropolitan area. Buenos Aires has played an important role in government administration since prior to the independence of Argentina and was officially recognized as the national capital in 1880. Residents of this city enjoy one of the highest ranking qualities of life in South America. Additionally, Buenos Aires is a popular tourist destination and sometimes referred to as the “Paris of South America”.

Read more on Argentina's Capital

Argentina is a South American country covering 2,780,400.00 km2 of which 1.57% is water and 2,736,690.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 8th largest country in the world and slightly less than three-tenths the size of the US. Its geographic coordinates are 34 00 S, 64 00 W and Buenos Aires is the capital city.

Its ISO code is AR.


Argentina has a mean elevation of 595 m above sea level.

It has a temperate climate that ranges from arid in the southeast to subantarctic in the southwest. It is characterized by plains in its northern half, plateaus in its south, and the rugged Andes along the western border.


Argentina has a population of 43,886,748 making it the 32nd largest in the world. One-third of the country's population lives in Buenos Aires.

Spanish is the official language; Italian, English and German are also spoken. The most common ethnic groups reported are European and mestizo. The population is mostly Roman Catholic.

The de facto official language of Argentina is Spanish. Some regional governments have also given official status to the Indigenous languages: Quechua, Guaraní, and Araucano. A number of other immigrant languages can also be heard in Argentina, ranging from Italian to German and Yiddish to Levantine Arabic. Additionally, this country is home to numerous Indigenous languages that can only be heard in certain regions. Unfortunately, many of these indigenous languages are considered critically endangered with fewer than 100 living speakers. Spanish speakers in Argentina utilize a unique pronoun form known as voseo, which can only be heard in a handful of other Spanish-speaking countries.

Read more on Argentina's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 54.


Argentina is an independent country. It gained independence from Spain in 1816. Its constitution was last ratified in 1853.

The government of Argentina is a representative democratic republic, in which the President serves as Head of State and Head of Government. Presidents are limited to serve only two four-year terms in their lifetime. The legislative branch of government is carried out by the National Congress, which is a bicameral body made up of the Chamber of Deputies and the Senate. Legislation is carried out in the Palace of the National Congress, located in Buenos Aires. Voting in Argentina is mandatory for citizens between the ages of 18 and 70.

Read more on Argentina's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Argentina's GDP is $879,000,000,000.00 (USD) with $20,200.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 26th largest economy and its citizens the 82nd richest in the world. The currency of Argentina is the Peso (ARS).

Its major export partners are Brazil, China, and the United States. Its main exports are soybeans, petroleum, and vehicles. Its major import partners are Brazil, China, and the United States. Its major imports include machinery, motor vehicles, petroleum, and natural gas.


The current version of the flag of Argentina has been in official use since 1816. This country celebrates Flag Day on June 20th every year, when the flag is on display throughout Argentina and public representatives hold speeches aimed at honoring the flag, its history, and its creator. Additionally, towns and schools recite the pledge of allegiance to the flag on this day. The flag of Argentina went on to influence the flag design of the United Provinces of Central America, which existed between 1823 and 1838. This union dissolved and the flag of Argentina went on to influence the flag of the resulting countries: Guatemala, Honduras, Costa Rica, El Salvador, and Nicaragua.

Read more on Argentina's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps