Antarctica is a continent which has no single country and instead consists of several territories each under different countries. The various regions on the continent speak foreign languages, but the widely spoken languages by the scientists are English and French. Apart from the two, other languages spoken in the continent are German, Russian, Ongian, Maori, Norwegian, and Swedish. These languages are considered official languages of the different territories in the continent. For instance, English is the official language in Ross Dependency, Balley Island, New Devon, New South Greenland, and Eduarda. French is official language in the Kerguelen, while German is official in New Swabia.

The most common language spoken on the continent is English. It is used across many territories among them Ross Dependency and New South Greenland. The second common language is Maori which is spoken in four regions. Although the two are common languages, it is hard to narrow down to specific numbers of people who speak the same languages. The different seasons that make workers come and go makes it difficult to establish the distribution of languages or the demographics of the continent.

Even though the climate is harsh in Antarctica and the people came for a short time, the workers and scientists have been able to come up with slang words. The words are a combination of English and other languages. They include “big eye” which means insomnia caused by changes in the length of daylight, “bunny boots” mean boots for cold weather, and “brew-up” which means to make tea.

Antartica does not have permanent residence, so there are no native languages. The primary type of work for the people living in Antarctica is scientific research.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps