Under the 2010 Constitution of Angola, the country's political system is defined as a presidential republic, functioning in a multi-party system where the President is the head of government as well as the state. Executive power is in the hands of the government, and legislative power is vested in the government, parliament, and President.

The country has 18 provinces that contribute to these elections. The ruling party (MPLA) won 191 seats in the National Assembly, and the main opposition party won only 16 seats in the last election during 2012. Elections in the country have been described as partly free and definitively unfair, but they do take place every five years.

The national parliament of Angola, formally known as the National Assembly, is located in the capital city of Luanda. The legislative branch of the government is made up of 220 members and the People's Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA) has held the majority of seats since independence. The Angolan government is made up of three branches of government, executive, legislative, and judicial. The Council of Ministers, the President, and Vice-President all comprise the branches of government.

Angola has been ruled by the same political party, called the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola, since 1975. However, other parties do exist in the country, namely the National Liberation Front of Angola and the National Union for the Total Independence of Angola.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps