Where is Angola?

Located in Southern Africa, Angola has a 5,369.00 km border with Democratic Republic of the Congo (2,646 km) (of which 225 km is the boundary of discontiguous Cabinda Province), Republic of the Congo (231 km), Namibia (1,427 km) and Zambia (1,065 km). It has a 1,600.00 km coastline. In the past the Democratic Republic of the Congo has accused Angola of shifting monuments.

The capital city of Angola is Luanda, which is located on Angola's Atlantic Ocean coastline in the northwestern section of the country. The city was formerly known as Sao Paulo da Assuncao de Loanda while under Portuguese administration (1575-1975). The climate of Luanda is classified as a hot, semi-arid environment which will see a lot of dryness in the area. The driest months in the country occur from June-October and these months will see minuscule or even no rain during this time. The rainy season in Luanda takes place during March and April and these two months see the majority of the annual rainfall of the region. The population of Luanda was last measured in the national census of 2014 and was found to be approximately 2.82 million but is estimated to be at over 5 million today. Mainly, the residents are of African ethnic groups such as Ambundu, Bakongo, and Ovimbundu. There is also a sizable minority population of Brazilians, Chinese, Portuguese and Lebanese within the city.

Read more on Angola's Capital

Angola is an African country covering 1,246,700.00 km2. Only about 280,000 sq km is ice-free and 13.72 million is covered with ice. This makes it the 22nd largest country in the world and about eight times the size of Georgia slightly less than twice the size of Texas. Its geographic coordinates are 12 30 S, 18 30 E and Luanda is the capital city.

The country's name derives from the Portuguese title "ngola".

Its ISO code is AO.


Angola has a mean elevation of 1,112 m above sea level.

It experiences a semiarid climate in the southern parts of the country, icluding the capital of Luanda; the northern part has a cool, dry season and a hot, rainy season. It is made up of narrow costal plain and a vast interior plateau.


Angola has a population of 25,789,024 making it the 50th largest in the world.

Portuguese is the official language, with Umbundu also widely spoken. The major ethnic groups reported are Ovimbundu, Kimbundu, and Bakongo. The population is mostly Roman Catholic and Protestant.

The official language of Angola is Portuguese which reflects a colonial past. Around 39% of Angolans speak Portuguese. Portuguese is also spoken by much more throughout the country as a second language. Although there is only one official language in the country, Angola is home to 38 other national languages. The most prominently spoken language other than Portuguese is a Bantu dialect known as Umbundu, spoken by roughly a quarter of the population. As with many other languages that have developed in Africa due to colonialism, Angolan Portuguese has a unique accent but is recognised as being a similar dialect to Brazilian Portuguese. 85% of urban dwellers in Angola will speak Portuguese compared to just 49% of citizens in the rural areas of the country. Portuguese is a language that has a non-formal and formal dialect; it is good to familiarise with the differences in the two tones. Angolan radio broadcasts in 14 different native languages and many national languages are taught in schools. Also, a region in Angola called Cabinda is home to many French speakers, outnumbering Portuguese speakers nine to one. The country is home to 39 languages in total, many of the native languages have been deemed national languages.

Read more on Angola's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 244.


Angola is an independent country. It gained independence from Portugal in 1975. Its constitution was last ratified in 2010.

Under the 2010 Constitution of Angola, the country's political system is defined as a presidential republic, functioning in a multi-party system. The President of Angola is the head of government as well as the head of state. Executive power is in the hands of the government, and legislative power is vested in the government, parliament, and President. The National Assembly is a unicameral body, with 220 members, 130 of whom are elected by proportional representation, and 90 of these members are elected by provincial elections. The ruling party (MPLA) won 191 seats in the National Assembly, and the main opposition party won only 16 seats in the last election during 2012. Elections in the country have been described as partly free and definitively unfair, but they do take place every five years.

Read more on Angola's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Angola's GDP is $189,000,000,000.00 (USD) with $6,800.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 64th largest economy and its citizens the 151st richest in the world. The currency of Angola is the Kwanza (AOA).

Its major export partnets are China, India, Spain, and France. Its main exports are crude oil, diamonds, and refined petroleum. Its major import partners are China, Portugal, and South Korea. Its major imports include machinery and electrical equipment, vehicles, and spare parts.


The national flag of Angola consists of two equally sized horizontal fields of red (top half) and black (lower half). These areas are centred by an emblem which includes a yellow half gear wheel, crossed by a machete with a five-pointed star above the tip of the machete. The red half of the flag of Angola is representative of the bloodshed and struggle during the fight for an independent state. The black half of the flag is a symbol of the people of Africa, a common colour symbol in many other African flags. The symbols in the emblem of this flag are reminiscent of the Soviet Union crossed hammer and sickle. The gear in the flag of Angola is symbolic of the industrial workers of the nation, and the machete represents the peasantry of the country. The five-pointed yellow star located at the tip of the machete is a symbol that is synonymous with socialism throughout the world. This flag has been in official use since the independence of the country on 11 November 1975.

Read more on Angola's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps