Algeria's political system can be described as a semi-presidential constitutional republic. The President of Algeria is the head of state, and the Prime Minister is the head of the government. The government holds executive power and legislative power which is shared with the two chambers of the Algerian parliament. Although democratic elections are held in the country, many political scientists describe Algeria as a controlled democracy.

National elections in the country take place every five years for the President and People's National Assembly. Representatives from the People's National Assembly are elected in multi-seat constituencies with proportional representation. Observers of Algerian elections have claimed that they are choreographed and heavily restricted as well as voter turnout figures were exaggerated. Reportedly, voting was also being monitored by the government and military officials. The last elections took place in May of 2017, and the next elections are scheduled for sometime in 2022.

Algeria's government is based in the capital city of Algiers, near the Bay of Algiers and alongside other domestic and international government buildings. The parliament of Algeria consists of two houses: the lower house, consisting of the People's National Assembly, and the upper house which contains the Council of the Nation. The People's National Assembly has 462 members who are elected by the public.

Algeria has a multi-party system. Some prominent parties include the National Liberation Front, the Workers' Party, and the National Rally for Democracy.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps