Where is Algeria?

Located in Northern Africa, Algeria has a 6,734.00 km border with Libya (989 km), Mali (1,359 km), Mauritania (460 km), Morocco (1,900 km), Niger (951 km), Tunisia (1,034 km) and Western Sahara (41 km). It has a 998.00 km coastline.

Algeria is an African country covering 2,381,741.00 km2. This makes it the 10th largest country in the world and slightly less than 3.5 times the size of Texas. Its geographic coordinates are 28 00 N, 3 00 E and Algiers is the capital city.

The country's name comes from the capital city of Algiers.

Its ISO code is DZ.


Algeria has a mean elevation of 800 m above sea level.

It has an arid to semi-arid climate with mild winters and hot summers, although it varies with more extreme weather in the plateau of the country. Its terrain consists of high plateaus and desert, as well as some mountains.


Algeria has a population of 40,263,711 making it the 33rd largest in the world. The population of the country is mostly found in the extreme northern part of the country, near the Mediterranean coast.

Arabic is the official language, along with Berber or Tamazight. The majority ethnic group is Arab-Berber. The population is predominantly Sunni Muslim.

The dialing code for the country is 213.


Algeria is an independent country. It gained independence from France in 1962. Its constitution was last ratified in 1963.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Algeria's GDP is $609,000,000,000.00 (USD) with $15,000.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 34th largest economy and its citizens the 105th richest in the world. The currency of Algeria is the Dinar (DZD).

Its biggest export partners are Spain, Italy, France, and the United Kingdom. Its main exports are petroleum, natural gas, and petroleum. Its major import partners are China, France, and Italy. Its major imports include capital foods, foodstuffs, and consumer goods.

This page was last modified on December 15th, 2017