Where is Vanuatu?

Located in Oceania, Vanuatu is an island nation. It has a 2,528.00 km coastline. Matthew and Hunter Islands, located east of New Caledonia, are claimed by both Vanuatu and France.

Vanuatu is an Oceanian country covering 12,189.00 km2. This makes it the 38th smallest country in the world and slightly larger than Connecticut. Its geographic coordinates are 16 00 S, 167 00 E and Port Vila is the capital city.

Its name is derived from the words "vanua" (home or land) and "tu" (stand).

Its ISO code is VU.


Vanuatu has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

The climate is tropical, hot, and humid, although it is more moderate in the highlands. Its terrain is mostly mountainous and of volcanic origin.


Vanuatu has a population of 277,554 making it the 181st largest in the world.

Local languages are most commonly spoken. The most common ethnic group reported is Ni-Vanuatu. The majority of the population identifies as Protestant.

The dialing code for the country is 678.


Vanuatu is an independent country. It gained independence from France and the United Kindom in 1980. Its constitution was last ratified in 1980.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Vanuatu's GDP is $723,000,000.00 (USD) with $2,600.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 205th largest economy and its citizens the 189th richest in the world. The currency of Vanuatu is the Vatu (VUV).

Its major export partners are Japan, Turkey, and Thailand. Its main exports are copra, beef, cocoa, timber, kava, and coffee. Its major import partners are China, Australia, and Japan. Its major imports include machinery and equipment, foodstuffs, and fuels.

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018