The official name of the government of Uzbekistan is the Republic of Uzbekistan. The government type in the country is a presidential constitutional republic. The chief of state and head of government is the President. The President also holds executive powers. The Office of the President was established on March 24, 1990, after the fall of the Soviet Union. The legislative power is exercised by the bicameral legislature known as the Supreme Assembly made up of the legislative chamber and the Senate. The judiciary is composed of the Supreme Court at the apex of the hierarchy followed by the Constitutional court, then higher economic court.

Citizens aged 18 years are eligible voters in Uzbekistan. At the age of 25 and above, one can be elected to be a member of the two chambers of parliament. General elections are held after every five years. Presidential candidates must be 35 of age and above, be proficient in the Uzbek language and a permanent resident of the country for at least ten years before the date of elections.

The parliament in Uzbekistan is also known as the Supreme Assembly or Oliy Majlis. Since the 2002 referendum, the parliamentary system is bicameral, and therefore the Oliy Majlis comprises of two chambers namely the Senate and the Legislative Chamber. The Senate is the Upper Chamber of national representation and is made up of 100 representatives. 16 of the 100 members of the Senate are selected by the President, while the other 84 Senators are voted for by the members of regional councils by secret ballot. These members hold office for a five-year term. On the other hand, the Legislative Chamber comprises of 150 members voted by regional constituencies on a multiparty basis. Both the Senate and the Legislative Chamber are led by Chairmen who have no term limit. However, the legislature has limited powers to make laws in the country since the executive branch has these powers. The Oliy Majlis is found in Tashkent, the capital of Uzbekistan. It features a round building situated within the Uzbekistan National Park. The front side of the parliament building is opposite to the Bunyodkor Street which is alongside the Abul Qosim Madrassah, Concert Hall, and Alisher Navoi Memorial.

Uzbekistan has several political parties. The largest party by membership is People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and was established in 1991. The Liberal Democratic Party of Uzbekistan (LDP) was formed in 2003. The National Revival Democratic Party (NRDP) was formally founded in 1995. However, in June 2008, the party joined the National Democratic Party. Other parties in the country are Social Democratic Justice Party (SDJP) and Ecological Movement of Uzbekistan (EMU).

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps