Where is Uruguay?

Located in Southern South America, Uruguay has a 1,591.00 km border with Argentina (541 km) and Brazil (1,050 km). It has a 660.00 km coastline. Uruguay is a member of a joint pollution monitoring regime, along with Argentina.

Uruguay is a South American country covering 176,215.00 km2 of which 0.68% is water and 175,015.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 89th largest country in the world and about the size of Virginia and West Virginia combined; slightly smaller than the state of Washington. Its geographic coordinates are 33 00 S, 56 00 W and Montevideo is the capital city.

Its name comes from the Spanish pronounciation of the Uruguay River.

Its ISO code is UY.


Uruguay has a mean elevation of 109 m above sea level.

The climate is mostly desert with long, hot summers and mild winters. Its terrain consists mostly of rolling plains and low hills, with fertile coastal lowlands.


Uruguay has a population of 3,351,016 making it the 135th largest in the world. Most of the population resides in the country's southern half.

Spanish is the official language. The most common ethnic group reported is Uzbek. The majority of the population identifies as Roman Catholic or non-Catholic Christian.

The dialing code for the country is 598.


Uruguay is an independent country. It gained its independence from Brazil in 1825. Its constitution was last ratified in 1967.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Uruguay's GDP is $73,250,000,000.00 (USD) with $20,300.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 96th largest economy and its citizens the 81st richest in the world. The currency of Uruguay is the Peso (UYU).

Its major export partners are China, Brazil, and the United States. Its main exports are beef, soybeans, cellulose, rice, and wheat. Its major import partners are Brazil, China, and Argentina. Its major imports include refined oil, crude oil, vehicle parts, and cellular phones.

This page was last modified on December 16th, 2017