Where is United States?

Located in North America, the United States has a 12,048.00 km border with Canada (8,893 km) (including (2,477 km) with Alaska) and Mexico (3,155 km). It has a 19,924.00 km coastline. The United States has strained water sharing agreements with Mexico, and disputes some land boundaries with Canada in the Arctic.

The United States Minor Outlying Islands do not have a specified capital city. Instead, the islands are governed from the US capital which is Washington, DC. Washington, DC ranks among the most famous cities in the world. It is a financial, business, tourist, and entertainment center. The city has about 693,972 inhabitants. As a tourist destination some of the attraction sites include the Lincoln Memorial, the Capitol Hill, the White House, the National Art and Space Museum, and the International Spy Museum. Washington DC experiences a humid sub-tropical climate.

Read more on The United States's Capital

The United States is a North American country covering 9,833,517.00 km2 of which 6.98% is water and 9,147,593.00 km2 is land. The area includes only the 50 states and District of Columbia but exludes 16 overseas territories. This makes it the 3rd largest country in the world and about half the size of Russia about three-tenths the size of Africa; about half the size of South America (or slightly larger than Brazil slightly larger than China more than twice the size of the European Union. Its geographic coordinates are 38 00 N, 97 00 W and Washington is the capital city.

The name America comes from Amerigo Vespucci, an Italian explorer, navigator, and cartographer.

Its ISO code is US.


The United States has a mean elevation of 760 m above sea level. The peak of Mauna Kea (4,205 m above sea level) on the island of Hawaii rises about 10,200 m above the Pacific Ocean floor; by this measurement, it is the world's tallest mountain - higher than Mount Everest (8,850 m), which is recognized as the tallest mountain above sea level.

The climate is generally warm and temperate, which freezing temperatures rare. Its terrain consists of a vast central plain with mountains in the west, hills an dlow mountains in the east, broad river valleys in Alaska, and volcanic topography in Hawaii.


United States has a population of 323,995,528 making it the 3rd largest in the world. Population clusters can be found throughout several regions including the Great Lakes, eastern seaboard and extreme western states.

English, Spanish, and other Indo-European languages are most commonly spoken. The most common ethnic group is reported as white, followed by black and Asian. The majority of the population identifies as Roman Catholic or Christian.

The main language spoken in the US Minor Outlying Islands is English. It is the language used for official purposes amongst the islands.

Read more on The United States's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 1.


United States is an independent country. It declared independence in 1776. Its constitution was last ratified in 1788.

The US government, which also extends to the US Minor Outlying Islands, is a democratic republic. It is headed by the president, vice president, cabinet, legislature, and judiciary. The president resides in the White House and legislators meet at the Capitol Hill. The US carries out presidential elections every four years divisible by four on the Election Day. The Electoral College oversees those elections.

Read more on The United States's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, United States's GDP is $18,600,000,000,000.00 (USD) with $57,300.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 2nd largest economy and its citizens the 19th richest in the world. The currency of United States is the Dollar (USD).

Its major export partners are Canada, Mexico, and China. Its main exports are agricultural products, industrial supplies, and capital goods. Its major import partners are China, Canada, and Mexico. Its major imports include agricultural products, industrial supplies, capital goods, and consumer goods.


The US Minor Outlying Islands use the flag of America as their own. The flag has three main colors: blue, red, and white. The current flag, designed by Francis Hopkins, was officially adopted in 1960 with a few changes on it. It has 50 stars, 13 red and white stripes, and a blue region. Blue represents justice while white represents the innocence of Americans. Red indicates the length at which they can go to fight for their sovereignty. Previously, the US flag had 13 stars. They represented the 13 colonies present during independence. Later on, the stars were changed to 50 due to represent all the states within the American Union.

Read more on The United States's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps