The United Kingdom is organized by a central government in Britain called Her Majesty's Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Although the executive authority lies with the monarch who is the Queen, the Prime Minister heads the government. This government consists of the Cabinet, Parliament and the Judiciary. The Prime Minister and other ministers form the Cabinet which drives the executive agenda. The bicameral Parliament, whose main role is to legislate, consists of the House of Lords and House of Commons.

Any UK citizen aged 18 years and above (16 years in Scotland Parliamentary and Local elections) can vote. The general election takes place after every five years and can be categorized into six elective positions, namely the House of Commons, devolved parliaments and assemblies, European Parliament, local council, Mayoral, and Police and Crime Commissioner elections. Voting can happen either in person at a polling station, by post or by proxy. The Prime Minister can remain in office as long as he/she wins the House of Commons elections and maintain popularity in the majority party.

The Palace of Westminster, which lies on the north bank of the River Thames in the City of Westminster in central London, has been the meeting place for Parliamentarians since the thirteenth century. Initially built in 1016 and demolished in 1834 by fire, the current Palace is a refurbishment of 1840 blueprint whose construction took 30 years and finished in 1870. Buckingham Palace, which is also in the City of Westminster, is the official London residence and administrative headquarters of the reigning monarch. Near the Buckingham Palace is the 300 years old “10 Downing Street,” the headquarters of the UK government and official residence of the Prime Minister.

There are a number of political parties who are represented in the House of Commons. These include, in no particular order, the Conservative Party, the Co-operative Party, the Democratic Unionist Party, the Green Party, the Labour Party, the Liberal Democrats, Plaid Cymru, the Scottish National Party, Sinn Fein, the Social Democratic and Labour Party, and UK Independence Party, and the Ulster Unionist Party.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps