Officially named the Kingdom of Tonga, Tonga is the only country in the Pacific to have monarchy rule. Its monarchical government is an inherited traditional system whose legacy the people hold dear. In 2010, King George Tupou V introduced parliamentary democracy in Tonga. Consequently, the king became the Commander-in-chief of the armed forces and head of state. The kingdom has a Legislative Assembly, Executive, and Judiciary.

There exists an electoral body in Tonga which carries out the parliamentary elections. Out of the 26 members of Tonga’s Legislative Assembly, 17 of them are elected by residents of the country. The elected members serve for a five-year term. The other nine members of parliament are elected by the hereditary nobles’ community in Tonga.

The King of Tonga resides at the Royal Palace built in 1867. The location of the palace is northwest of Nuku’alofa City near the Pacific Ocean. Other royal palaces available to the royal family have their locations in Longoteme, Kolovai, and between Pea and Koloua. The palaces are called Fua’amotu, Liukava, and Tufuāhina & Villa respectively. The Parliament House is located along Railway Road in Nuku’alofa.

The Democratic Party of the Friendly Islands, the Human Rights and Democracy Movement, the People's Democratic Party, the Sustainable Nation-Building Party, and the Tongan Democratic Labor Party are all examples of political parties in Tonga.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps