The political system of Thailand previously operated under a constitutional monarchy in which the monarchy was the head of state, and the Prime Minister was the head of government. Since the military coup of May 2014, the Constitution of Thailand has been revoked, and the country is effectively under martial law. During this coup, the National Council for Peace and Order has dissolved the National Assembly of Thailand and virtually rules the state under an authoritarian military regime

Since grabbing power in the country in 2014, the NCPO has curbed most, if not all, political opposition by detaining individuals deemed dangerous to the regime as well as academics, prominent politicians, political bloggers, and journalists. The last national election in the country took place in 2014, and the next elections are expected to take place in 2018, pending a last-minute crisis. The NCPO has also censored any national television broadcasting that is considered anti-government.

The parliament of Thailand is located in the Dusit District of Bangkok, near the Dusit Zoo and the Open Air Museum. Before 2014, this building served as the headquarters of the bicameral legislature of Thai government. After the NCPO dissolved the National Assembly, the initial seats in the National Legislative Assembly of Thailand were filled by 97 military officers, 69 of whom were on active duty, 85 former senators as well as prominent individuals from the private sector, and eight police officers. The 220 seats in use today are filled by NCPO appointed members from various areas of Thai military, economy, education, and industry.

Currently, Thailand is in the control of the National Council for Peace and Order, and does not have any active political parties. It has been this way since the coup d'├ętat of 2014.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps