The flag of Sri Lanka has four colors, a lion holding a sword, and four leaves. The hoist side has two vertical stripes in green and orange surrounded by a yellow border. Next to the two stripes is a lion holding a sword in a square with Bo leaves on each corner. A yellow border separates both the two vertical stripes and the square. The flag was officially adopted on May 2, 1972. The Sri Lankan flag is also known Sinha flag or Lion Flag.

The two stripes of green and orange on the host side represent Muslims and Hindus in Sri Lanka respectively. The red color represents the Sinhalese people. The yellow color of the border stands for the majority religion of Buddhism. The sword represents the bravery of the nation while the four leaves (Bo leaves) stand for the four Buddhist values of happiness (Muditha), kindness (Mettha), equanimity (peksha), and compassion (Karuna). The sword represents the bravery of the nation. The beard and the nose of lion symbolize purity of words and intelligence. The golden lion represents the Sinhalese ethnic group. The handle of the sword stands for the elements that make up the country and they are fire, air, water, and the earth.

An advisory committee designed the current flag of Sri Lanka. The committee was given the directive to design the flag by the first Prime Minister D.S. Senanayake. After the designing of the flag, it was first hoisted on March 3, 1950. The flag’s design was based on the first flag.

Before the current flag, the first flag of Sri Lanka was created by the first King Vijaya. It comprised of a lion. The flag was used over the years by different regimes that come after King Vijaya. It was abolished when Britain colonized the kingdom. The flag was replaced with the union jack flag, which was used until Sri Lanka gained independence in 1948.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps