Sri Lanka has two capital cities, Colombo and Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte, with the latter serving as the administrative seat for government and Colombo as the commercial center. Colombo became the capital city in 1802 while Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte became the capital in the 14th century during the Sinhalese Kingdom of Kotte. Colombo is located in the west region to the south of river Kelani on the island. The other city Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte is located in the southwestern part of the island. Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte is also known as Kotte city.

Colombo, the commercial capital city of Sri Lanka, has the highest number of residents with 5,648,000 residents in the city. Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte follows with a population of 2,234,289 residents.

The city of Colombo has several tourist attraction sites which attract many tourists. Viharamahadevi Park offers a peaceful moment from the hustle and bustle of the city. The city also has many historical sites where tourist can learn more about Sri Lankan history. The other city also has several attractions ranging from parks, hotels, and the parliament which boasts of colonial architecture which has been well maintained over the years.

The cities experience a tropical climate with average temperatures of 26 degree Celsius and highs of 28.5 degree Celsius. Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte experiences 74.4% humidity with February being the least humid month. June is the most humid month in the city. Colombo experiences an average of 27 degrees Celsius throughout the year. May in Colombo is the wettest month.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps