Where is South Sudan?

Located in East-Central Africa, South Sudan has a 6,018.00 km border with Central African Republic (1,055 km), Democratic Republic of the Congo (714 km), Ethiopia (1,299 km), Kenya (317 km), Sudan (2,158 km) and Uganda (475 km). The final alignment of the border between South Sudan and Sudan is still pending negotiations.

The current capital of South Sudan is Juba, which is located along the banks of the White Nile river in the state of Jubek. This city was officially designated as the interim capital of the region in 2005, prior to the establishment of South Sudan as an independent country. When South Sudan finally achieved its independence from Sudan in 2011, Juba was officially declared the national capital. In September of the same year, however, the government stated its intention of moving the capital to Ramciel, considered the geographic center of the country, in the future. It has plans to invest in the construction of a planned city. The population of Juba was estimated at around 492,970 in 2014, making this the most populated city in South Sudan. The economy here is expected to grow at a relatively fast pace, which is expected to result in an increase of the population size as well. Due to the political instability and violence currently experienced by South Sudan, the country as a whole is not considered a popular tourist destination. Individuals who do travel to this city can book river tours. Juba is located within a tropical climate that experiences wet and dry seasons.

Read more on South Sudan's Capital

South Sudan is an African country covering 644,329.00 km2. This makes it the 41st largest country in the world and more than four times the size of Georgia slightly smaller than Texas. Its geographic coordinates are 8 00 N, 30 00 E and Juba is the capital city.

Its name is self-descriptive, referring to the country's former position within Sudan.

Its ISO code is SS.


South Sudan has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

It has a temperate climate with hot summers in the interior and cooler weather along the coast. Its terrain consists of plains in the north and highlands in the south.


South Sudan has a population of 12,530,717 making it the 74th largest in the world.

English is an official language, and Arabic is widely spoken. The major ethnic groups are Dinka, Nuer, Shilluk, and Azande. The majority of the country identifies as Animist or Christian.


South Sudan is an independent country. It gain independence from Sudan in 2011. Its constitution was last ratified in 2011.

South Sudan recently established independence on July 9, 2011. As a newly formed country, it is still experiencing political instability as it attempts to establish its permanent constitution and government. It is currently in a civil war between the government and opposing political parties. According to its interim Constitution, South Sudan has a presidential system in which the President serves as both the Head of State and the Head of Government. Its legislative responsibilities are carried out by the bicameral National Legislature body, which consists of the National Legislative Assembly (170 seats) and the Council of States (50 states). South Sudan has not yet held a public election. Because of the civil war, the National Legislature decided to allow the current government to stay in power for an additional term, which means the first elections will be in 2018. The National Legislature meets in the city of Juba, the current capital of South Sudan. The government has plans, however, to move the capital to a planned city in the future. The current President of South Sudan belongs to the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement party. This party holds majority representation in the National Legislative Assembly and nearly half of the seats in the Council of States.

Read more on South Sudan's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, South Sudan's GDP is $20,880,000,000.00 (USD) with $1,700.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 144th largest economy and its citizens the 203rd richest in the world. The currency of South Sudan is the Pound (SDG).


The current flag of South Sudan has been in use since July 9, 2005, when this country was still part of the entire territory of Sudan. This date is significant to South Sudan because it marks the day that present-day South Sudan reached a peace agreement with present-day Sudan after years of fighting. When it was officially proclaimed an independent nation on July 9, 2011, the flag design remained the same. It incorporates 6 colors: black, white, green, yellow, red, and blue. Each of these colors has a special meaning for the country. The original version of this flag was designed by the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement as a way to symbolize unity of the people of South Sudan, a largely Christian population who felt they were not represented by the Muslim majority government of the northern region of present-day Sudan.

Read more on South Sudan's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps