San Marino, or the Republic of San Marino, has a parliamentary representative democratic republic system of government. The country’s two heads of state are known as the Captains Regent and are elected by San Marino’s Grand and General Council. These members of government are usually from different political parties and serve a term of six months. This traditional system dates all the way back to 1243.

What Does the Election Process Look Like?

Because of San Marino’s election system, the co-leaders of the country change twice a year. Two of the most recent Captains Regent were Federico Pedini Amati and Rosa Zafferani. Zafferani served from April 1, 1999 to October 1, 1999 and again in April 2008 while Amati’s term ran from April 1, 2008 to October 1, 2008.

Where Is the House of Paliament Found?

The government of San Marino conducts the business of the republic in the Palazzo Pubblico (public palace). This site is used for official ceremonies as well as national administrative duties. Among the political bodies that meet here include the Captains Regent, Council of XII, the Grand and General Council, and the Congress of State. Constructed on the ancient site of the Domus Magna Comunis, the present day government administration building was built from 1884 to 1894 and underwent significant renovations in 1996.

What Are the Political Parties of the Country?

San Marino’s electoral system is based on the Constitution of San Marino, a six book document dating from the late 16th century. The country is divided into nine municipalities or castelli. San Marino is also comprised of 43 parishes. According to the country’s multi-party system legislative powers are split between the Grand and General Councils and the government. The judicial branch operates on an independent basis.

This page was last modified on February 7th, 2018