Where is Saint Lucia?

Located in the Caribbean, Saint Lucia is an island nation. It has a 158.00 km coastline. Saint Lucia desputes Venezuela's claim that Aves Island sustains human habitation.

The capital city of Saint Lucia is Castries, which is located in the eastern part of the island that is home to a beautiful harbor. Castries has about 70,000 people with 150,000 people living in the greater metropolitan area. Castries has been the capital city of Saint Lucia since 1650 after the French named it “Carenage.” Le Petit Carenage was the first capital city of Castries but was later shifted due to severe hurricanes as a result of the nature of its terrain. Castries has tourist landmarks such as harbors, beaches, gardens, forests among others. The climate of Castries is hot and humid year-round with some cool breezes.

Read more on Saint Lucia's Capital

Saint Lucia is a North American country covering 616.00 km2 of which 1.62% is water and 606.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 18th smallest country in the world and about 4 times smaller than Rhode Island. Its geographic coordinates are 13 53 N, 60 58 W and Castries is the capital city.

Saint Lucia was named after Saint Lucy of Syracuse by French sailors.

Its ISO code is LC.


Saint Lucia has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

It has a temperate climate with low humidity. Its terrain is volcanic and mountainous with broad, fertile valleys.


Saint Lucia has a population of 164,464 making it the 185th largest in the world. The majority of the population lives on the periphery.

English is the official language, while French patois is also spoken. The majority of the population is of Black/African or mixed descent. The majority of the country is Roman Catholic or Protestant.

English is the official language of Saint Lucia. It is used by the media, government, in businesses, and as the language of instruction in schools. However, Patois is the second language that is commonly spoken by 95% of the population, with 20% having little to no knowledge of English. Patois is spoken during informal events and at home. Due to its popularity, radio programs have been created, and books have been written in the language. Some Patois words have been borrowed from English and are often used in conversations. Minority languages in the island include the Cariban and Arawakan languages although a majority of them became extinct decades ago.

Read more on Saint Lucia's Languages

The dialing code for the country is -757.


Saint Lucia is an independent country. It gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1979. Its constitution was last ratified in 1978.

The government of Saint Lucia is a constitutional monarchy with an independent democratic parliament. The governor general is the British monarchy representative on the island. The constitution of the island was adopted in 1978 when the country became independent. The longest-serving prime minister was John Compton who served from May 3, 1982, to April 2, 1996. The official home of the governor general is the Government House which is situated in Castries. The house was built from 1894 to 1895. Elections in the Island are held after every five years and all the citizens who are 18 years and above and have an ID can vote.

Read more on Saint Lucia's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Saint Lucia's GDP is $2,083,000,000.00 (USD) with $12,000.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 193rd largest economy and its citizens the 122nd richest in the world. The currency of Saint Lucia is the Dollar (XCD).

Its major export partners are the Dominican Republic, the United States, and Suriname. Its main exports are bananas, clothing, cocoa, avocadoes, and mangoes. Its major import partners are Brazil, the United States, and Trinidad and Tobago. Its major imports include food, manufactured goods, machinery and transportation equipment, and chemicals.


The flag of Saint Lucia has a cerulean blue field with two triangles at the center. One of the triangles is black and yellow with a wide base and equal sides while the other is yellow and smaller. The colors, design and symbols on the flag bear regional, cultural and political meanings. Dustan St Omer designed the flag of Saint Lucia. It was officially adopted in 1979.

Read more on Saint Lucia's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps