The capital city of Rwanda is Kigali which is located slightly east of the center of the country and is surrounded by the Mugambazi, Kayenzi, and Ntyazo regions. The city was founded in 1907 under German colonial rule but did not become the capital until 1962. Since Rwanda gained independence in 1962, Kigali has been the main center of culture, education, transport, and economic activity.

The population of Kigali was measured at 1.132 million after the 2015 national census. The city covers an area of 730 square kilometres (280 square miles) and the population density is 1,600 people per square kilometre (4,000 per square mile). Kigali is serviced by an international airport as well as being conveniently close to all major cities in the country by road. The population of Kigali is expected to triple by 2030 and the city is looking to decentralize its population.

Attractions in Kigali are incredibly diverse with some memorializing the Rwandan genocide and others celebrating the culture and religion of the people. Both the Ntarama and Nyamata Churches are fascinating places to visit. The Inema Art Center and Niyo Art Gallery showcase the range of local artistry and will give tourists a great taste of the culture of the area. The Kigali Genocide Memorial and Camp Kigali Memorial and both somber places that remind visitors of the atrocities committed across the country.

The climate of Kigali is considered a tropical savanna environment with cooler temperatures than most other cities around the Equator. Temperatures remain relatively consistent throughout the year with lows around 15.7 degrees Celsius (60.3 degrees Fahrenheit) and highs around 26.9 degrees Celsius (80.4 degrees Fahrenheit) at any time. Yearly rainfall reaches 950.9 millimetres (37.44 inches) with the wettest months being March and April. October and November are also wet months for Kigali with slightly less precipitation than March and April.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps