Where is Rwanda?

Located in Central Africa, Rwanda has a 930.00 km border with Burundi (315 km), Democratic Republic of the Congo (221 km), Tanzania (222 km) and Uganda (172 km). Burundi and Rwanda dispute two square kilomters of Sabanerwa, a famed area in the Rukurazi Valley.

The capital city of Rwanda is Kigali which is located slightly east of the center of the country and is surrounded by the Mugambazi, Kayenzi, and Ntyazo regions. The city was founded in 1907 under German colonial rule but did not become the capital until 1962. Since Rwanda gained independence in 1962, Kigali has been the main center of culture, education, transport, and economic activity. The climate of Kigali is considered a tropical savanna environment with cooler temperatures than most other cities around the Equator. Temperatures remain relatively consistent throughout the year with lows around 15.7 degrees Celsius (60.3 degrees Fahrenheit) and highs around 26.9 degrees Celsius (80.4 degrees Fahrenheit) at any time. Yearly rainfall reaches 950.9 millimetres (37.44 inches) with the wettest months being March and April. Attractions in Kigali are incredibly diverse with some memorializing the Rwandan genocide and others celebrating the culture and religion of the people. Both the Ntarama and Nyamata Churches are fascinating places to visit. The Inema Art Center and Niyo Art Gallery showcase the range of local artistry and will give tourists a great taste of the culture of the area. The population of Kigali was measured at 1.132 million after the 2015 national census. The city covers an area of 730 square kilometres (280 square miles) and the population density is 1,600 people per square kilometre (4,000 per square mile).

Read more on Rwanda's Capital

Rwanda is an African country covering 26,338.00 km2 of which 6.34% is water and 24,668.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 51st smallest country in the world and slightly smaller than Maryland. Its geographic coordinates are 2 00 S, 30 00 E and Kigali is the capital city.

The word "Rwanda" translates into "domain" in the Kinyarwanda language.

Its ISO code is RW.


Rwanda has a mean elevation of 1,598 m above sea level.

It has a tropical climate with little to no variation in temperature. The terrain is made up of grassy uplands and hills, with mountainous areas.


Rwanda has a population of 12,988,423 making it the 73rd largest in the world.

Kinyawanda is the official language, as well as French and English. The major ethnic groups are Hutu, Tutsi, and Twa. The majority of the population identifies as Roman Catholic or Protestant.

The official language of Rwanda is Kinyarwanda which has evolved from the Niger-Congo language family. Kinyarwanda is also spoken in the Democratic Republic of the Congo as well as some parts of Uganda. Rwanda also has four national languages and they are French, English, and Swahili, as well as the aforementioned Kinyarwanda, and many citizens are bilingual. Kinyarwanda is spoken by almost all of the population of the country as a first or second language (11.9 million), this contrasts other African nations who do not recognise ethnic boundaries or pre-European colonial kingdoms as Rwanda does. The language is spoken by the Hutu, Tutsi, and Twa ethnicities and developed during the 15th century as somewhat of a cultural identifier. Kinyarwanda is the main language for business, institutions, and media in Rwanda. French was once an official language of Rwanda but is now an endangered national language. In recent years, the Rwandan government has shifted from using French as an educational language to English as an effort for citizens to assimilate with western media and economic trade. Just 0.1% of Rwandans speak French as a first or second language. English is spoken by just 0.2% of the population fluently, but this number is growing rapidly. The adoption of English, as well as Swahili, has greatly improved literacy rates across the country.

Read more on Rwanda's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 250.


Rwanda is an independent country. It gained independence from belgium-administered United Nations trusteeship in 1962. Its constitution was last ratified in 2003.

The political system of Rwanda is considered a Presidential Republic with elements of Belgian and German systems of civil law due to colonial ties. The President of Rwanda is the head of government and head of state within a multi-party system. Executive power is held by the government and legislative power is vested in the parliament of Rwanda. Elements of both the 1991 Constitution of Rwanda and the 1993 Arusha Peace Accords made their way into the 2003 Constitution of Rwanda. Elections for the Presidency of Rwanda are held every seven years.

Read more on Rwanda's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Rwanda's GDP is $21,970,000,000.00 (USD) with $1,900.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 141st largest economy and its citizens the 199th richest in the world. The currency of Rwanda is the Franc (RWF).

Its major export partners are the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the United States, and China. Its main exports are coffee, tea, hides, and tin ore. Its major import partners are Uganda, Kenya, and India. Its major imports include foodstuffs, machinery and equipment, steel, and petroleum products.


The flag of Rwanda consists of three horizontal stripes (top to bottom) of blue, yellow, and green. The Upper blue stripe is twice the size of the yellow and green stripes. This flag also contains a yellow sun in the top right-hand corner in a color known as sun yellow. This national flag was officially adopted on 25 October 2001. The procedure surrounding the adoption of this flag can be accessed through the Rwandan government website and during this process, the Fundamental Law of Rwanda (stated in the 1991 Constitution) were modified. The blue is a symbol of peace and happiness in Rwanda after the country had a brutal period of instability during the 1990s. The yellow stripe is representative of economic development and the green stripe is a symbol of hope and prosperity for the citizens of the country. The sun is a symbol of the weather and clear skies in the country as well as becoming a sign of hope or new life. The flag prior to the current national banner is very similar to the flag of Guinea which consists of three vertical fields of red, yellow, and green (Pan-African colors) but this flag of Rwanda contained a large black "R" in the centre to distinguish itself. This flag was used from 25 September 1961 until 24 October 2001.

Read more on Rwanda's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps