The capital city of Russia is Moscow. Although the country’s first capital city was St. Petersburg, after the Russian Revolution in 1917 leader Vladimir Lenin chose to relocate the seat of government to the city of Moscow in March of 1918. Along with its status as a major population hub, Moscow is also the most northern and coldest urban area in the world.

According to recent statistics, the population of Moscow is estimated to be approximately 12,228,685. With the residents of the entire metropolitan area factored in the population of Moscow increases to 17,100,000. This figure is based on documented permanent residents who have registered with the Russian Federation, a requirement mandated as a means of keeping track of the movement and residences of all Russian citizens within the country.

Moscow is a historic city and is home to a number of popular landmarks and attractions which pay tribute to the country’s past struggles and achievements. Among the World Heritage Sites in Moscow are the Kremlin and Red Square. In terms of modern architecture, visitors can take in the Ostankino Tower and the Federation Tower which are two of the tallest such structures in Europe. The city’s rich cultural history is represented by structures such as the onion domed Saint Basil’s Cathedral.

Moscow’s climate is classified as being hemiboreal and characterized by lengthy frigid winters which stretch from the middle of November until the last days of March. Moscow has warm summer seasons.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps